Skip to main content

Miami, Fla. May 13, 2019 Committed to championing and honoring Latino excellence across all musical genres, the Board of Directors and Officers of theLatin Songwriters Hall of Fame (LSHOF) are proud to announce the names of the five musical titans to be welcomed this year into the esteemed hall during the 7th Annual LA MUSA AWARDS.

Selected by the general public from a previously announced list of 24 nominated songwriters and composers, which represented nearly a dozen nations from all over the Americas and the Iberian Peninsula, these five artists are as eclectic as they are singularly brilliant.

Celebrating Latin music in all its beautiful diversity and unique artistry, this year’s group of inductees is comprised of some of the greatest performers, lyricists, and musicians in Latin music today. Their sensibilities and styles provide a glimpse into the rich cultural tapestry that defines Latin creativity and artistic innovation.

The illustrious 2019 inductees are: Puerto Rican reggaeton trailblazer Ivy Queen (“Quiero Bailar,” “Que Lloren”); Puerto Rican legendary music icon, Willie Colón (“Aguanile,” “La Murga,” “Sin Poderte Hablar”); Brazilian composer, musician, producer, and singer Michael Sullivan (“Um Dia De Domingo,” “Me Dê Motivo”); Argentine composer and singer Chico Novarro (“Algo Contigo,” “Cantata a Buenos Aires”); and Cuban composer, pianist, and arranger Armando Larrinaga (“Un Millón de Rosas,” “Me Estoy Enamorando,” “Vida”).

To be eligible for induction into the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame the songwriter, composer or lyricist must have had their first published work released at least 20 years prior to the year of induction. All inductees are presented with the silver LA MUSA trophy statuette. Honorees are presented with bronze Musas created by world-renowned sculptor Alan LeQuire.

Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame Chairman/CEO, Rudy Pérez and President, Delia Orjuela said, “We are absolutely delighted to be able to welcome this outstanding Class of 2019 Inductees into the ranks of the world’s greatest songwriters and composers of the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame. Their invaluable contributions to the world, prove the vital importance of diverse expression and the immeasurable and unifying power of music. These esteemed music creators make us proud, and we are thrilled to recognize their life’s work and long-standing commitment to excellence with this honor.”

This year’s Class of 2019 will be officially inducted into the Latin Songwriters Hall Of Fame at the 7th annual LA MUSA AWARDS to take place October 24th at the James L. Knight Center in Miami.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.